Got first credit card a few weeks ago, already received second targeted offer, should I apply?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by WilliamWanderlust22, Apr 24, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. WilliamWanderlust22

WilliamWanderlust22 Member

Status Points:
    Hello everyone. I'm quite new to Milepoint as this is my first post. Although I read a lot of posts on this forum and FT I must admit this site seems more noob friendly so I thought I's ask here:)

My question pertains to a targeted credit card offer I've received in the mail.

Roughly 3 weeks ago I received my first rewards card and credit card in general (Chase Freedom) after cosigning with my dad since I have no credit history. The first bill cycle ends June 16th and I intend to pay it in full and on time with no issue. Also I have no prior debt of any kind.

Today I received a targeted offer for the Chase United MileagePlus Card which is offering 50,000 miles after the first use of the card and an additional 10,000 miles after $25K in spending every calendar year. I'm not as interested in the extra 10,000 miles since I don't see myself making or spending that much in the for foreseeable future but the 50K miles seems appealing since the offer on the chase website is only 25K miles after first purchase. All other features of the card are the same besides this. Also the offer expires June 6th. This where my problem arises.

If my first billing cycle for the Freedom isn't until June 16th, would I likely be declined for this card since I have no credit history? or is there a chance I could actually be accepted since the card is affiliated with chase?

I appreciate anyones help in advance and hope in the future I can pass along some form of knowledge myself.

PS. ... I'M GOING TO THE CHICAGO SEMINARS! hope to maybe meet some of you this October.

Jimgotkp and tondoleo like this.
  2. LizzyDragon84
    Original Member

LizzyDragon84 Gold Member

Status Points: