Gold Medallion, wondering about the rules for same day standby...

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by Mike1625, Mar 26, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Mike1625
    Original Member

Mike1625 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Forgive my question, I'm new to being Gold Medallion on Delta. Got a Tampa to ATL flight in the morning, leaving at 6:20 AM, currently showing 0 open seats in F, and I'm already #6 on the waiting list (and I sure I will be dropping as more people check in.)

If I get to the airport early enough, can I go to the game for the 5:30 flight, and ask to go stand by, but only if I can clear the upgrade, or is it a take it or leave it without knowing if I will clear? I don't want to give up my aisle seat on the later flight unless I can upgrade?

Should be a simple question, I just don't happen to know the answer.

2. mattsteg
    Original Member

mattsteg Gold Member

Status Points:
    Using ExpertFlyer I see V3 availability - 3 upgrade seats - for DL1972 tomorrow. As we're inside of 24 hours, this means all medallions have already cleared, so the upgrade is pretty much assured. Your flight looks zeroed out if you're into fishing for bumps...otherwise there's upgrade space on the 5:20.

Without expertflyer, you could go to delta.com and start making a booking for the flight of interest. Since you're inside of your upgrade window, it will show upgrade available if there are open upgrade seats.

If the status quo continues, you should be able to call delta and SDC onto the earlier flight, and get upgraded.

Mike1625 likes this.
  3. DeltaExpert
    Original Member

DeltaExpert Gold Member

Status Points:
    The simple answer is No. If you just want to SDC to that flight, call 3 hours before and they can do that. Also they need to be selling Coach Seats on the 5:20a.m. Flight. Right now they are not so they wouldn't even let you on.

It is an hour flight so no food anyways.....

Mike1625 and mattsteg like this.
  4. DeltaExpert