Getting Started..

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by DannyD88, Aug 5, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. DannyD88

DannyD88 Member

Status Points:
    Hi. I am new to this and have already read a few of the forums. I am a student and do not spend much money on a daily basis. I currently have 2 credit cards. A BMO Airmiles mastercard, and a Scotiabank AMEX gold card which earns 4x the points on gas, grocerys and entertainment purchases. Are these a good start? It seems as if its going to take me years to actually gain enough points to get a free flight. I live in Canada and when i do fly, I usually take Air Canada. Would i be better off to sign up for Air Canada's Aeroplan program? How do I get points fast with limited purchases?
    Thanks.

rehoult likes this.
  2. Pizzaman
    Original Member

Pizzaman Co-founder

Status Points:
    Canada is a tougher place to generate large signup bonuses. You should definitely sign up for Aeroplan. Let me see if I can get you a better answer from a Canadian resident.

rehoult likes this.
  3. rehoult
    Original Member

rehoult Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hey Danny,

There are a couple aspects to your question, so I'll address each one separately.

1) Annual Spend
    Before getting into anything else, the most obvious question is how much spend will you put on cards during a year? The answer to that has a big impact on what type of card you should be getting. Depending on the amount, it may not be worth it to pay an annual fee for the benefits you'd receive. As an arbitrary example, if the new-fee version of a given card earns you 2,500 points for $5,000 in spend, and the $120 fee version earns you 5,000 points for $5,000 in spend, you have to ask if the extra 2,500 points was worth the $120 it cost you to get them.