Future of *A in south america with departure of TAM

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by ralfkrippner, Mar 10, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. ralfkrippner
    Original Member

ralfkrippner Silver Member

Status Points:
    What are your thoughts of the future of *A in south america with the departure of TAM to ow?

I hope for some new direct longhaul flights and I really hope for new european flights to Panama City with COPA offering onward flights. A FRA-PTY flight 5 times a week should be a possibility IMO.

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. Fredrik
    Original Member

Fredrik Silver Member

Status Points:
    TACA/Avianca is a part answer but it appears that the departure of TAM was quite a blow to *A. I am not an expert so there may be an airline waiting to join somewhere.

jbcarioca and ralfkrippner like this.
  3. kyunbit
    Original Member

kyunbit Silver Member

Status Points:
    *A is still stronger than Skyteam I think.

4. General_Flyer
    Original Member

General_Flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    Technically Star Alliance is the strongest, but it is now about the equal to OW as it looks like, when it will take 2 current members, + add another 2 like MH and QR.. Sad days...

5. garyst16
    Original Member

garyst16 Silver Member

Status Points:
    AA has been pushing the build up of their South American routes for a while... Now with TAM in the OW picture, that area is pretty much locked up.

jbcarioca likes this.
  6. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Disagree heartily. In the Americas OW is very strong. TATL and TPAC are still very much in *A's favor.

7. jbcarioca
    Original Member

jbcarioca Gold Member

Status Points: