FTU Tampa for a Newbie?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by kmann31, May 21, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. kmann31

kmann31 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi All!
    I am relatively new to the points world. I really just joined the game because we had lots of expenses on the horizon and I wanted to get the biggest bang for our buck! Of course, now I am addicted! I was looking into the FTU in Tampa this September, but I am nervous to register. As a points newbie that really knows nothing about travel and redemption(all of the acronyms on here and FT make my head spin!), will the information go over my head?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. infamousdx

infamousdx Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've only gone to the FTU NJ last year, but I thought the whole experience was great and more geared towards newbies than anyone else. For the breakout sessions, I'm sure there will be one specifically for newbies (usually run by Million Mile Secrets?) so that would really be beneficial.

Hope you decide to go! I just booked my flights and am all set.

3. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Usually @ FTU there are "newbie" sessions. I went to the FTU@LAX and there was always 2 sessions. One geared more towards new people and the other was was a little step above.

You should go, and look at what session is going on when. Pick & Choose what interests you, not just go because it says newbie. Also ... be friendly and talk to people, as what you take from FTU is (imo) 60% what you say/hear/talk to people not in the sessions, but what you get out of it during lunch, in between sessions, afterwards etc.

4. TravelBear

TravelBear Gold Member

Status Points: