Frequent Flyers for Dummies?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by azarethroy, Feb 11, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Hi team,

A friend recommended this to me. Is there a document for complete noobs like me who do not understand frequent flyer points? My problem is I only fly a few times a year and don't seem to accrue points very fast.

Or is this site aimed at the experts? :)

2. Westsox
    Original Member

Westsox Gold Member

Status Points:
    I think one of the best sources of information for beginners is www.frugaltravelguy.com . If you will go back to the beginning of Rick's archives and do some reading you can get a good overview. His wife's daughter recently started a weekly post on his site for Rookie Travelers. He also has a book that is a great deal for $8.97 from Amazon.

FYI, I get nothing for promoting his site or book. I have just found them to be invaluable resources.

3. mowogo
    Original Member

mowogo Gold Member

Status Points:
    Although you only travel a few times a year, there are ways you can work the system to your benefit. The most success is achieved in maximizing what you can get based on your existing travel patterns

cockpitvisit likes this.
  4. Well technically, I travel all year :) A work on a cruise ship and in between I travel some more. Thing is, I can't get my head around air miles, so I try to find low-cost flights instead.

5. Gargoyle
    Original Member

Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Definitely not. This site is still new, content is being built. The plan seems to be to have a wiki in each forum where all the basic info is presented in an accessible fashion, but that will take some time to assemble.

In the mean time, please feel comfortable asking questions. Even those here who are experts in one program are newbies in another program. For example, I know the DL program pretty well, but I don't know a thing about hotel and rental car programs.