Frequent Flyer Programs-Where should a newbie concentrate?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Len Williams, Feb 16, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Len Williams
    Original Member

Len Williams Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to collecting FF miles through various promotions. I realize that miles can be transfered within the alliance, and some airlines will recognize elite status, but which loyalty program should I target? Which loyalty program is the best one to try and achieve top-level status?

Thanks in advance.

Tenmoc likes this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    First of all, welcome to the world of miles collecting.

A couple of things: miles are usually not transferrable within an alliance, but you can use miles from carrier A to get award flights on alliance partners.

To give you more advice, it would be helpful to know where you're based, how much travel you anticipate and where to, what your award travel goals are, etc.

3. Gardyloo
    Original Member

Gardyloo Gold Member

Status Points:
    In general miles can't be transferred between alliance members, but can be redeemed for travel on partner airlines.

"Best" is totally subjective, and based on many factors including where you live, where you travel, how often, in what class of service (coach, first etc.) and whether you're in it for travel redemptions, program status (which grants bonus miles, upgrades and numerous other perks) or both. More information is needed before anyone can even start to have a go at a meaningful answer.

4. Len Williams
    Original Member

Len Williams Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for the responses.

I appologize for my ignorance, but I was under the impression that alliance members were partner airlines. What am I missing here?