Flying to China on points

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by bowerad, Feb 21, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. bowerad

bowerad New Member

Status Points:
    Hi all-

I'm pretty new to the points game but recently figured out I could get some free travel done by smarter use of credit cards. My youngest brother is teaching in China throughout the end of 2014 and we were thinking of trying to visit him sometime late winter or early spring of 2014. I am hoping to pay for our transpacific air travel and maybe a couple hotels on points and I am wondering if anyone has any tips about maximizing our miles. We should have a lot of freedom on choosing dates so I'm hoping to find good award redemptions.

We currently each have about 60,000 United miles. (Spouse has Chase Freedom, Sapphire Preferred, and United Cards and I just have the United Card...sadly we cashed out his UR points for cash a year ago before figuring out they had more value as miles)

I will shortly have 50,000 AA miles. Sadly I think I missed out on the 2 browser trick. I just got approved for the Visa not the Amex.

Other cards: hubby has old PenFed card and I have a Barclays NFL card.

I also have about 20,000 Delta miles from various flights but it doesn't sound like those will be too valuable.

Anyway I was thinking I could get the Freedom and Sapphire cards for some more UR points and convert those to United miles, but not sure if that's the best strategy. We both have credit scores close to 800 and good income. I may be starting a secondary consulting job next month and then I'd be comfortable applying for business cards but right now I feel a little wary.