flight delay compensation

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by weblets, Dec 7, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. weblets

weblets New Member

Status Points:
    my apologies if the following has already been discussed but I am new to trying forums I would appreciate any advice on a recent offer from united airlines of 1000 dollar each e-ticket or 30,000 air mileage plus miles each for flight delay compensation under new e u regulation which would seem to be the better offer we are based in London

Newscience likes this.
  2. traveltoomuch

traveltoomuch Silver Member

Status Points:
    My general advice in these cases is "take the cash". That gives you the most flexibility to use it as you wish rather than on a carrier you may not want to fly again.

Looking deeper: many of us value UA miles somewhere around US$.02@. (Range perhaps 1.6-2.6 cents.) That's consistent with using a 25k domestic saver award when one might have instead spent $400-500 cash. People who value premium cabin redemptions might place a higher value on the miles.

Since UA has only offered 30k miles, take the money, keeping in mind that future paid tickets, even if paid with travel credits, earn more miles, whereas award tickets do not.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2013
    ffitalia, Flyer1976, 8MiHi and 2 others like this.
  3. I am here now!

I am here now! Active Member

Status Points:
    I'd take the money as well.

4. banane

banane Member

Status Points:
    +1

5. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    I, too, would take the cash over the points, especially at that ratio, but I'm also a bit more curious about the circumstances. That $1000 is almost certainly a TCV, not cash, and if departing the EU a proper cash payment might be called for.

We need more details here. What actually happened??

8MiHi likes this.
  6. adrianors

adrianors Silver Member

Status Points: