First time trying figure out the best value for Hong Kong hotels with UR Points

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by merice107, Jan 25, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. merice107

merice107 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I made a spread sheet for the first time trying to see how to get the most value out of my UR points on hotels in Hong Kong. This is my first time doing something like this (I have always been looking at getting the points, not using them) so I hope I set up the math correctly. I basically took the price of the hotel for one night divided by the amount of points it costs for one night. The higher the number the better right? So the winner would be the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong?

I'm not quite sure on how to set up the cash and points options though. I wouldn't take $40 divided by 40000 points because the hotel room is not worth $40. Would it be $348 divided by 40000?

IHG:
    Intercontinental $308 45000 = 0.0068
    40000 $40
    35000 $370
    Hotel Indigo $425 30000 = 0.0142
    25000 $40
    20000 $70
    Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay $296 45000 = 0.0066
    40000 $40
    35000 $70
    Hiliday Inn Golden Mile $232 35000 = 0.0066
    30000 $40
    25000 $70

Marriott:
    Renaissance Harbour View $328 30000 = 0.0109
    JW Marriott $427 35000 = 0.0122
    Courtyard Hong Kong $206 20000 = 0.0103

Hyatt:
    Grand Hyatt Hong Kong $416 22000 = 0.0189

uggboy likes this.
  2. RestlessLocationSyndrome
    Original Member

RestlessLocationSyndrome Silver Member

Status Points:
    Assuming you are trying to figure out how to get the most in room rate against points and assuming your cash+pts example is for the Intercontinental HK, then you should take the room rate, subtract the cash portion and divide by the pts portion. Thus, for the same example, it should be $268 / 40,000 pts = .0067