First time MR help: MR (AS, AA or DL) from SEA

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by JJAnon, Nov 30, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. JJAnon

JJAnon Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello everyone,

I'm ~10k short (quite a bit, I know) of hitting MVP Gold on Alaska. I'd love some help with an MR sometime in December from SEA. I've never done this before, so I'd appreciate some pointers. I tried looking at farecompare, but I'm obviously doing something wrong because I couldn't find a valid fare.

Thanks!

2. redii

redii Active Member

Status Points:
    Flights are rough in December... Everything is terrible with the exception of the upcoming weekend (and I'm going for a two hour stay in Istanbul :D) You can join me out of SEA on 3-DEC, connecting through JFK, two hour turn in IST and have you back home on 5-DEC at 10:23 PM for $1068 -- 14000 miles. DL metal.

I've never been able to get Farecompare to work either... It gives me a good idea, though, of where I could go for about how much and for how many miles.

Here's what I do:

I go to the Farecompare tool, plug in Seattle, and select destinations in Asia, Europe, South America.
    I get a list, sorted by CPM, of destinations.
    I take the destinations and plug them into ITA (http://matrix.itasoftware.net)
    In December, they all suck. I try some hub cities.

Origin: SEA
    Destination: AMS, FRA, HND, NRT, ICN, WAW, PRG, BUD, SVO, JNB

See Calendar of Lowest Fares
    December 1st and a month later
    Length of stay 0 days

I'll also pick a big city and tell ITA to find destinations in 300 miles. You'll get a lot of small airports you've never heard of... and sometimes a better fare.

I found a DL fare on 12/10, same day turn in AMS. Worth a little over 10k miles, but costs $960 -- if it were $500, it'd be a good mileage run. The lower CPM (cents per qualifying mile) the better - 5 CPM is usually what pros consider to be palatable.