First Card for Unremarkable Credit

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by nickvonkeller, Feb 7, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. nickvonkeller

nickvonkeller New Member

Status Points:
    Hello!

I just discovered this site (and the idea of using credit cards to score lots of miles), but I’m excited to give it a spin and try to see more of the world for cheap. Thanks so much for these amazing resources!

But I do have one question. I’m a recent college grad with no real credit history. Both of my college loans are paid every month on time, but I’ve never had a credit card and so my credit score is only 680 (I’m assuming due to my “thin” file). I don’t want to apply for a Chase Sapphire Preferred or Starwoods American Express if I’m just going to get turned down. Is there a card you recommend I start with to build up a stronger credit score (or another, faster strategy)? Thanks!

GoodBoy and marcwint55 like this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Chase Freedom - gets your foot in the door with Chase and Freedom criteria is a bit lower than the Sapphire.

Basically find any that gives a decent reward and slowly build out from there. Maybe a Capital One card ... or a NAF Amex (Like the HHonor)

GoodBoy, marcwint55 and malikguy like this.
  3. sharris503

sharris503 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Find a card with no annual fee and keep it open forever even if you don't use it any longer. Chase Freedom fits the bill so it is a good suggestion.

4. TheBOSman

TheBOSman Silver Member

Status Points: