First App O Rama - moved post from newbies

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by Traveling Momma, Feb 17, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Traveling Momma

Traveling Momma Silver Member

Status Points:
    I originally posted this in newbies and realized I should have posted here, where more seasoned FF are commenting and reviewing. I'm still learning. Bear with me....

Hi all -

I completed my first round of cards. We now have the following:

For me
    Citi Advantage Visa - 50K points after 3K in 4 months
    Chase Business Ink - 50K points after 5K in 3 months
    Southwest RR Visa Personal - 50K points after 2K in 3 months (under review)
    Southwest RR Visa Business - 50K points after 2K in 3 months (under review)

For the hubby
    Citi Advantage Visa - 50K points after 3K in 4 months
    Marriott Rewards Visa - 70K points after 1K in 3 months
    Barclays US Airways - 40K points after (not sure) need to check this

Our home airport is Chicago and we're working towards the following:

3 people (2 adults and one 5 year old) first class round trip to....
    South America - Galapagos (LAN)
    or
    Hong Kong - Bangkok or Singapore, Chiang Mia, Kosamui, etc...
    or
    China

Southwest companion pass and points for domestic trips over the course of the next two years (1 per month)

Our credit scores are 780 and 802 prior to the AoR above.

My questions are the following:
    1. Are there any other cards we should sign up for now?
    2. Do you have any suggestions on hotel cards for the high end hotels that will get us a few nights in the more expensive international destinations?
    3. How do you keep your spending straight on all the cards? We spend about $10K/month each on regular spending so we won't have any problem meeting the minimums but once we reach it should I stop my reoccurring bills being posted to any of the cards?