Finding <700 mile award destinations

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Wandering Aramean, Jan 20, 2015.  |  Print Topic

  1. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Looking to grab the 10,000 point awards for <700 mile o/w trips? Or even just curious which cities are possible for such from your home airport? I put together a quick little tool to help identify all the options.

    [​IMG]

    Pick a city from all the UA/UAX-operated destinations in CONUS/AK/Canada and it will spit out a map and list of the options available to you.

    Because that might be useful to someone. :)
     
    Xyzzy, daninstl, iolaire and 13 others like this.
  2. Mackieman
    Original Member

    Mackieman Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,319
    Likes Received:
    38,530
    Status Points:
    16,520
  3. snod08
    Original Member

    snod08 Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    13,067
    Status Points:
    16,520
    Because you are generally Awesome :)
     
  4. Gtitan
    Original Member

    Gtitan Gold Member

    Messages:
    7,069
    Likes Received:
    12,437
    Status Points:
    12,520
    I can help here. Everywhere UA flies nonstop from ROC is under 700 miles just in case anyone needs it. :)
     
  5. Rob
    Original Member

    Rob Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,389
    Likes Received:
    14,166
    Status Points:
    16,520
    If you'd like to double check your routes with another method of generating them, I've attached the routes that the UA timetable thinks are under 700 miles operated by mainline or express
     

    Attached Files:

    Flyer1976 and Wandering Aramean like this.
  6. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

    Jimgotkp Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,834
    Likes Received:
    80,011
    Status Points:
    16,495
    Should make one for AA/AS/US too :)
     
    daninstl likes this.
  7. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Yes and no. UA's rule doesn't care about connections while Avios does. ;)

    That said, someone else already mentioned that idea to me and I've already got most of the code, so....

    Those are non-stop routes, not city pairs. The UA awards have historically allowed connections and still priced the cheap way. If that changes then I'll have to change the map, but until then there are a lot more city pairs where it works than just these.
     
    daninstl and akcae like this.
  8. Rob
    Original Member

    Rob Gold Member

    Messages:
    10,389
    Likes Received:
    14,166
    Status Points:
    16,520
    Good point
     
    daninstl likes this.
  9. akcae
    Original Member

    akcae Silver Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Status Points:
    420
    The AA/US one would be excellent -- a 600-mi radius would identify destinations reachable with 4500 Avios (assuming direct service exists).
     
    daninstl likes this.
  10. skyvan

    skyvan Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Status Points:
    2,045
    I once created a list solely for LA...but this is waaaaaay more useful. Thanks Seth!
     
    daninstl likes this.
  11. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I already have a list of most non-stop routes in the Avios ecosystem and the number Avios required for each route. I've just not really made it a graphical view like this. Consider it coming soon.
     
    akcae and daninstl like this.
  12. daninstl

    daninstl Gold Member

    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    1,677
    Status Points:
    1,120
    Good stuff Seth. Keep up the good work. Your like a wizard or something :)
     
  13. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
  14. Flyer1976
    Original Member

    Flyer1976 Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,247
    Likes Received:
    33,912
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Is there supposed to be a key somewhere to indicate the cost? :confused:

    As far as I can tell if one hovers over the city, you'll see the cost but otherwise it's a bit not clear if someone doesn't hover over the city name.

    Thanks for creating an useful tool Seth!

    Capture.PNG
     
  15. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
    The hover is the only "key" for now. And many people already know the tiers so I haven't added to much more in. I should be able to put a key up, I suppose. Just need to not be so lazy. ;)

    ETA: The key is there now. :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2015
    Flyer1976 likes this.
  16. Flyer1976
    Original Member

    Flyer1976 Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,247
    Likes Received:
    33,912
    Status Points:
    20,020
    *Thumbs Up*
     
  17. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

    HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,504
    Likes Received:
    20,199
    Status Points:
    16,520
    OK, I am apparently too dense to use the Avios tool :)

    - The entire map is full of blue (10,000 Avios) icons. How do I see 4500 or 7500 mile Avios trips?
    - What's the purpose of "Search Airport" in the key -- doesn't appear to be clickable
    - Hovering over Eugene, OR shows "Mahlon Sweet Field - Redding - EUGundefined" (Redding, of course, is in CA)
    - why is Redmond, OR missing? (has, I think, a daily flight to LAX)
    - what's with that scrollable list of airports on the left -- are they really in random order? What am I supposed to do with that?

    OK, enough for now, time to get coffee and rethink what I just wrote.

    Thanks for building this. :)
     
  18. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

    Wandering Aramean Gold Member

    Messages:
    28,216
    Likes Received:
    61,747
    Status Points:
    20,020
    From the default page you have to click on one of the airports to get the routes from that airport. That's why they're all blue to start. Or click on one of the airports in the scroll list, though it should be on the right, not the left, if the page is rendering correctly.

    For reasons I'm not entirely certain of the database I loaded the airport location information from seems to think that EU is in Redding, OR. I'll clean that up.

    And that list is, in theory, in alphabetical order by IATA code. It gives a text view of the data on the map for people who want such. All of the airports are clickable and doing so will redo the search centered on that airport.

    And there are definitely a few routes missing. I'm trying to add them in but BA isn't being particularly cooperative tonight.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2015
    HaveMilesWillTravel likes this.
  19. akcae
    Original Member

    akcae Silver Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    150
    Status Points:
    420
    This. Is. AWESOME! Love it!
     
    Wandering Aramean likes this.
  20. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

    HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

    Messages:
    12,504
    Likes Received:
    20,199
    Status Points:
    16,520
    Right... I meant right.
     
    Wandering Aramean likes this.

Share This Page