Fee-Free MR Card?

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by Ed Chandler, Dec 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Ed Chandler
    Original Member

Ed Chandler Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hey, all,

I'm just getting into the MR game. Like the other "bank" programs, I'd like to have a fall-back zero-fee MR-earning card in my drawer that will keep me from losing my accumulated MR when/if I close the other MR-earning cards I have. (Always keep one, right?)

Anyway, what's the current thinking on the "best" fee-free MR card to keep and why?
    (I figure that ought to spur some discussion that will be of use to more than just me.)

Thanks in advance.

jwsky likes this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    I Myself have asked this question (not sure if It was here or not) but if I recall the answer was that Amex BLUE was the best. Even though the points from Amex Blue were not transferable ... once you got an Amex Gold/PLT you could combine the points together & then transfer them.

From the way I remember it, Amex Blue = Ink/freedom; Amex Gold/Plt = CSP/IB

LETTERBOY and Wandering Aramean like this.
  3. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    The Blue card participates in the MR Express program which significantly reduces transfer options. Historically adding a proper MR or MR First card back to the portfolio has converted all the pending points to that program, instantly increasing their value. No guarantees that it will always stay that way but for now that's the way the system works.

LETTERBOY likes this.
  4. servo

servo Silver Member

Status Points:
    Blue or Blue Sky? I think they're both MR Express points. I've got Blue Sky already and used those points, so I'm not sure how much more value it has other than being 1 of 2 AmEX NAF cards I'll hold forever.

5. merice107

merice107 Silver Member

Status Points: