ExpertFlyer vs Award Booking Services

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by govtmule, May 31, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. govtmule

govtmule Active Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to the miles/points games, and I'm not sure if these are the right questions. I'll ask, and hope I learn something.

To get good value, I think I'll need a tool or person to help me book my first few (complicated international) awards, until I learn more about the various award programs.

How does a basic (or premium) paid membership to Expert Flyer compare to using an award booking service?

Clearly, an award booking service is the easiest to use, since someone else takes care of almost everything. But with three travelers (wife, kid and me), it will be significantly more expensive.

Does Expert Flyer provide enough tools to approximate an award booking service if I spend some time and effort?

2. wombat18
    Original Member

wombat18 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Expert Flyer or the KVS Tool are both great (you only need one), as you learn the 'insides' of the award booking game. Both have good forums here at milepoint. And don't forget the Milepoint Premium Membership gets you 20% off Expert Flyer (and many other goodies!)

But, nothing beats the experienced knowledge of an award booking service. Those folks often find routes that you'd never have thought of (eg. flying through Asia to get to Australia/New Zealand), or have a familiarity that you're not aware of (eg. which trans-ocean airlines don't have lie-flat beds in business class). And, to be frank, sometimes it is nice not to have to wait on hold to book an award ticket with the airlines, only to get an ill-informed airline person and have to hang-up and dial again.

3. Dad to GO

Dad to GO Silver Member

Status Points: