Expert Flyer vs. delta seats available ??

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by traveldawg, Mar 31, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. traveldawg

traveldawg Silver Member

Status Points:
    This could probably go into another forum, but I am a Delta flier and this is the forum I always come to.

Looking at DL #1299 on 4/3 Whereas I realize the DL seatmap is not going to reflect accuracy, was just looking for an overview. It shows 9 coach, 1 f/c seat available.

Going to Expert Flyer - the report is: F1 Y9 B8 S8 H7 Q7 K7 L7 U6 T6 X5 V4 E4

And whereas I am fairly new to Expert Flyer; there is something that I am just not understanding here. I know about the different fare buckets and that the numbers mean "at least" - but this shows considerably more that the 10 total seats as displayed on the DL website.

Some insight would TRULY be appreciated and thank you for putting up with my "dumbness"

2. USAF_Pride
    Original Member

USAF_Pride Gold Member

Status Points:
    The fare classes are not always cumulative. These are the fare classes they are willing to sell seats in, and it could be any combination to get to the total seats available. If I was to guess, there are nine seats available.

Flyer1976 and Wandering Aramean like this.
  3. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    You don't add up all the numbers going across. There is 1 seat for sale in the forward cabin and at least 9 for sale in the economy cabin but that's all you know from those numbers.

And ignore the seat map. They can block seats, oversell the flights and not assign seats until check-in opens. There are all sorts of reason that seat maps are not good indicators of flight loads.

4. KyRoamer
    Original Member

KyRoamer Gold Member

Status Points: