Enterprise Rent-a-Car and liability insurance

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by hiccup, Mar 21, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. hiccup

hiccup New Member

Status Points:
    Hi everyone.

I'm a long time browser of the forums, first time poster.

I'm renting a car through enterprise today and don't have my own car or my own auto insurance. So, basically I need some sort of state mandated liability insurance for other drivers. I called enterprise and they didn't seem to understand my question.

Do I have to purchase basic liability insurance (for third parties and property) or is that included within the basic rental cost? If I do have to purchase, how much does it normally run. I'm a 21-24 year old driver, for what it's worth.

Thanks!
    J

2. Mapsmith
    Original Member

Mapsmith Gold Member

Status Points:
    You will probably have to pay the outrageous Insurance from Enterprise. As well, you will probably have to pay an additional fee for Underage Driver. (usually under 25).

Here is a link from Smarter Travel that gives some information. You can also just Google (or Bing) Enterprise Car Rental Liability Insurance. There are bunches of links that have pertinent information.

http://www.smartertravel.com/travel-advice/what-rental-car-insurance-do-need.html?id=2461122

One site did mention purchasing from Geico. I would imagine that most Auto Insurance Companies may have a policy specifically for travelers that do not own cars. (Many in the NYC area or DC may not even own cars.) Of course, there with be a substantial charge. But you could probably either call or walk into an agency and ask. Or online to the big online agency.

3. Mrwheels12

Mrwheels12 Active Member

Status Points: