Economy Seating / International Flights

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by mapenn, Nov 14, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. mapenn

mapenn Silver Member

Status Points:
    Here's a total newbie question! Is "economy" seating on the big international flights the same as "economy" seating on domestic flights?

I don't mind traveling economy around the country...but I'm not sure I could handle being that crammed in that same space for up for 10+ hours.

I was just wondering if the seating layout on the bigger planes was more accommodating.

adrianors and Newscience like this.
  2. Newscience

Newscience Gold Member

Status Points:

IMHV, it totally depends upon the carrier. Many non-US carriers had better (wider) seating, but even that is changing now. I'd become used to wider seats in coach seating on Lufthansa, but have noticed in my last couple of flights with them that some of their jets have "new" (i.e., narrower) seating arrangements. If you fly United Airlines internationally, it is absolutely worth paying the ~$200+ or so that they'll charge for "Economy Plus" seating.
    It will be interesting to read other Milepointers POV on this issue. Good luck! ;)

MSYgirl and mapenn like this.
  3. LAM

LAM Silver Member

Status Points:
    Depends on the carrier and I think the location of the seat. Maybe it is in my mind but if the seats behind an exit row are available they feel like to me they have more room. Don't do what I had to do on my 13+ hour flight to India. In order to have a window seat I had to sit in front of the lav. Not good for multiple reasons.

mapenn and Newscience like this.
  4. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points: