earning points

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by zcns, Sep 18, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Was wondering if anyone could help i am fairley new to this and I want to earn mile points ,I am a student and I got my first cc this month which was a citi card with no point benefits involved , I have alittle bit of AA points from flying and keep getting offers in the mail for the citi aa advantage ,( but i have no cerdit really )
    Any ideas on how I can earn points?
    Thans so much!!!

JohnDeere19 likes this.
  2. mowogo
    Original Member

mowogo Gold Member

Status Points:
    JohnDeere19 likes this.
  3. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Over on FlyerTalk there is a thread about the AA credit card and offers that have, technically, expired. However, AA is still honoring the applications and associated bonus. You can see the details here:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/mile...card-75k-sign-up-bonus-read-post-2-first.html

Make sure you read and follow "Post #2". Since the card you just received is a Citi card, you might want to wait 3 or 4 months to apply for the AA card. Make sure you charge something and fully pay it off each month so you build a credit history with Citi.

Good Luck.

Gargoyle and JohnDeere19 like this.
  4. ThaNKS SO MUCH FOR THE HELP!!! anyway I can get amex or starwood points for a first time creditcard?

JohnDeere19 likes this.
  5. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Be very careful on how many credit cards you apply for. Since you are very new to the "credit game" you need to take your time to build your credit rating and make sure the banks "trust" you.

There is another blog that you might want to follow: http://www.frugaltravelguy.com/

He has a lot of good suggestions on getting miles.

By the way, welcome to FT. You will find a lot of good information here.

Gargoyle and JohnDeere19 like this.
  6. Jimgotkp
    Original Member