Earning EQMs vs RDMs

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Singapore Flyer, Jul 6, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Singapore Flyer

Singapore Flyer Silver Member

Status Points:
    Don't let my Silver member status in MP mislead anyone, I am still pretty new to this game...so, I hope someone can provide me with this answer. I tried looking around for the answer and couldn't find it.

I was wondering if I could earn BIS miles for a different *A or OW member than the one I fly?

i.e. I fly NH but put my UA membership on it, would I earn EQM for UA? OR same situation but fly CX, but put my AA account, would I earn for AA EQMs in addition to the RDMs for AA? Or is it just the RDMs for the account I put and EQMs for the airline that I fly?

I hope that made sense.

Thanks!

marcwint55 likes this.
  2. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points:
    It is always best to check with the airline to be certain, but generally you will earn the eqm's and rdm's for the frequent flyer number that you use. My daughter flies Alaska almost exclusively at present as she is in school in Seattle, but she gets the credit on Delta and keeps up her silver medallion status as well as growing her lifetime miles.

Singapore Flyer likes this.
  3. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    The FF number entered with the booking or PNR is generally credited both EQMs and RDMs, otherwise it would be possible to do double-, triple- or multi-dipping!

marcwint55 and Singapore Flyer like this.
  4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    However, if you're crediting other airlines in *A to UA, be careful to check the requirements for UA operated segemtns for UA status levels. Just having 25,000 EQM isn't enough for Silver, for example, if you have never been on a UA flight.

IIRC Air Canada has some similar requirements in their FF program. You're probably aware of SQ's rules for PPS since you're apparently located in Singapore.

marcwint55 likes this.