Dropbox - file storage and syncing for travelers and students

Discussion in 'Travel Technology' started by DrG, Feb 22, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. DrG
    Original Member

DrG Gold Member

Status Points:
    As a graduate student, I have been an avid user of Dropbox for a couple years now and find it an indispensable - and wanted to recommend it to all here. At first, I started using it to easily share files between Windows/Mac/Linux platform computers. Soon, I completely eliminated the need to carry USB drives around with my projects or travel documents. The ability to restore/recover files has saved me a number of times. It is great to know that you are never without your files.

The free basic Dropbox account provides 2GB of storage. This can be more than enough for most documents while traveling. Here are some tips for increasing the free storage space if you want a bit more.
    • Sign up via a referral link (extra 250 MB) - Here's Mine ( http://db.tt/ip1nrtO ) :)
    • Complete steps such as the tour to become a "Dropbox guru" (extra 250MB)
    • Complete Dropquest 2011 (+ 1GB) - Seems to have ended in January
    • Complete Dropquest 2012 (+ 1GB) - (More Info)
    • Connect Dropbox to social media (up to 640MB) - dropbox.com/free
    • Register .edu email address (extra 500MB)
    • Refer other users (extra 250MB each)
    • Refer fellow students (extra 500MB each) - dropbox.com/edu
    Their pay plans are reasonable too (ie. 50GB for $99/yr). I have heard that if their advertised plans do not fit your needs, email them and they may have a pay plan that fits.

Also, be sure to search Dropbox tricks or hacks on google and lifehacker for some other clever uses.

See my post below for using a TrueCrypt encrypted drive for sensitive travel documents.

Thank you to anyone who signs up via my referral link at http://db.tt/ip1nrtO

G_G, miloki, arkleseizure and 5 others like this.
  2. CrankyScott
    Original Member

CrankyScott Silver Member

Status Points: