Domestic stopover in Hawaii on award ticket?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by MarkEJohnson66, May 31, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. MarkEJohnson66

MarkEJohnson66 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've never done a stopover before, and the bit of reading I've done so far suggests that it's only possible on an international itinerary (i.e. not mine).

I'm looking at economy award travel from LAX to KOA, but with a stopover of a couple days in Honolulu. Is that possible on an economy award ticket? Or is my best (or only) option to book two one-way award tickets (LAX-HNL, KOA-LAX), and buy the island hop out of pocket? Thanks.

Newscience likes this.
  2. Newscience

Newscience Gold Member

Status Points:
    I've booked the latter all the time - a flight from mainland US to HNL, and return home out of another Hawaiian airport, with separately booked travel between the islands on HA.

And although you may get a better inter-island deal on another airline, beware that most aren't quite as reliable as HA. More than once I've seen the message boards at HNL loaded with "flight cancelled" messages for non-HA flights between the islands.

Insofar as I am aware, there isn't an airline that would permit a "stopover" of a couple of days between islands, but will gladly be corrected.

Dublin_rfk likes this.
  3. Newscience

Newscience Gold Member

Status Points:
    I just played with this some more on the UA search engine. My above advice is from experience on AA award flights.

If you try to book a separate flight from HNL to KOA as part of your UA award travel, an error message pops up in the UA search engine when you try to book that leg of your flight. It doesn't appear that UA has separate flights available in their system from HNL to KOA.