Does BA block the first week in January for Avios?

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by jmail1, Dec 22, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. jmail1

jmail1 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I use Avios all the time to book domestic legs but this is my first time using them to upgrade a BA flight. I have a friend that's flying to London over the Christmas break and has purchased for Club World tickets. The outbound segment opened up for upgrade about two weeks ahead of their departure, first three seats, then the next day the fourth opened up. On the return there seems to be wide open availability until Jan 1st, then everything just goes blank for the entire month. I show F9 on many of the flights the first few days on January.

foxberg likes this.
  2. foxberg

foxberg Gold Member

Status Points:
    BA, AY, AA, etc...

3. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

Status Points:
    What do mean by "block" ?? Most airlines will release awards and upgrades based on their projection as to whether they are able to sell seats. That's a completely different concept as opposed to "blocking"....there is no rule that says upgradable seats must be available on any or every flight.

Your last sentence appears to contradict itself and how are you determining that there is availability anyway?

4. jmail1

jmail1 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Sorry, I was typing faster than thinking. I meant some sort of blackout date range. I couldn't find any blackouts on Avios upgrades. I understand that there are only a few airlines that make their upgrade/award process seem like clockwork. For example, you can fairly accurately predict Lufthansa, Singapore and few others based on the number of F class seats for sale. The flights I'm looking at for the first week of January are WIDE open in F, moreso than some flights the last few days on December have up to 4 seats available for Avios upgrades. Everything comes to a screeching halt on January 1st with BA.