Do Resort Fees Cause you to Change Hotels?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by TRAVELSIG, Feb 16, 2011.  |  Print Topic

?

Do Resort Fees Cause you to Change Hotels/Cancel Reservations?

Poll closed Mar 2, 2011.
  1. Yes- I don't like the practice as it should be included in the rate

40 vote(s)
    80.0%
  2. Yes- because I am an elite member and should not have to pay such fees

11 vote(s)
    22.0%
  3. No- because I like the hotel anyway

7 vote(s)
    14.0%
  4. No- because I think they are a good value as opposed to paying the fees separately

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. No- I am a hotel revenue manager so they are great

1 vote(s)
    2.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TRAVELSIG
    Original Member

TRAVELSIG Gold Member

Status Points:
    Today I cancelled a Hotel Reservation as it was a city hotel and they have started adding a resort fee. Here is a poll- is this a "one off" or are others following the same thinking (Yes or No).

Daringdoo and aitchly like this.
  2. peteropny
    Original Member

peteropny Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    I just "voted" No - I like the hotel anyways. While I don't like the practice - I look at it as part of the total "cost" of the stay - and if it's within what I'm willing to pay for the hotel (vs the competitors) anyways, it's ok.

travelingmore and Kaanapali like this.
  3. rajuabju
    Original Member

rajuabju Gold Member

Status Points:
    I hate the resort fee practice. I always ask for it to be waived, sometimes I get it, sometimes I dont, sometimes they just reduce it. But I've never changed hotels because of it.

travelingmore likes this.
  4. TRAVELSIG
    Original Member

TRAVELSIG Gold Member

Status Points:
    Interesting point- however why does the hotel just not include it in the rate? What will be next- "Airport Surcharge?", "Proximity to Monument fee?"

Daringdoo likes this.
  5. Kaanapali
    Original Member

Kaanapali Gold Member

Status Points: