DL vs. UA - Should I stay or should I go now?

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by adrianors, Nov 16, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. adrianors

adrianors Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi all,

I am new with mileage memberships.. I started paying more attention to it in the last two years but just recently joined and started to study more about them. So, my question is, with this whole story of devaluations on both sides, UA and DL, and with me having Silver on both DL and UA, what program do you guys think offers more and better service? I live in NC, in Charlotte, a US Airways hub, which looks like it will become an AA hub soon (OneWorld, in other words). I have plans to fly more next year and would like to have some advice or tips about where I should focus on. I am asking this based on both, my location and the mileage program.

redtailshark, 8MiHi and MSYgirl like this.
  2. MSYgirl

MSYgirl Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you're at the US hub, it seems reasonable to go with US>future AA>i.e. One World. I can't stand going through ATL because of so many missed connections and left them to join AA (personal experience talking, nothing more).

And thanks for getting that song stuck in my head. :eek:

adrianors and 8MiHi like this.
  3. dc3
    Original Member

dc3 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I would definitely go with AA. DL Skypesos are close to worthless and Atlanta is an awful hub. All the programs are going downhill, so pick the least worst.

adrianors and gregm like this.
  4. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Provided you can make the new DL and UA spend requirements for status, I'd stay with one of them for now until AA and US get through their merger. In fact, for the same reason I'd pick DL now. Its FF program certainly isn't great, but they don't have the post merger problems that UA has been experiencing, including incompetent and surly staff.