DL Diamond Medallion in 2013

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by carey262, Dec 31, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. carey262

carey262 New Member

First off, I am a newb, so please be gentle with me. For you legacy members, I will say that I am at least clever enough to track down the FAQ for this forum and I've done a bit of preliminary research, so hopefully I am smart enough to hit my goal of DL diamond in 2013 without going broke and by using your tips ;)

I live in Knoxville and make frequent trips to NYC. I also make several trips to LAX a few times a year. I'd love to find ways to maximize my miles from TYS>NYC/LAX and I'd also love some pointers on random MRs that can earn me the most miles for the buck.

Is there a secret to adding more stops to a scheduled trip? When I book, I always only get options for 1 layover in a major hub. Am I missing something?

Any suggestions for my TYS-NYC runs?

Should I bee looking to fly out of airports other than TYS, or can I find the deals I am looking for from my home airport?

Any pointers on finding the best deals for leisure MRs?

Thanks in advance and Happy New Year!
  2. mattsteg
    Original Member

mattsteg Gold Member

The cheap published fares that I checked on DL between TYS and NYC permit 1 connection. Likewise the LAX fares. This is fairly typical of Delta domestic fares in most markets. Other than cases where there are cheap fares to a 3rd city from both your origination and destination, DL often does not give attractive pricing for itineraries that would not be considered practical for most people.

If you want more segments in your routing, look at smaller destination airports that are less-connected to the eastern and midwest delta hubs. If there's a good fare to ONT/SNA/LGB/BUR you'll have a better chance to route it circuitously.

DTWBOB Silver Member

Welcome to MP