Denied on Recon - Call again?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by fotes, Mar 11, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. fotes

fotes Member

Im very new to all of this (22 years old), and perhaps I overextended myself. Last month I got the US Air card and was so excited, I figured I would just keep applying for cards because apparently my credit was that good.

I mistakingly applied and was approved for Amex Plat, but never activated (Cancelled) because it does not really fit into my lifestyle at the moment enough to be worth the annual fee.

Applied and was approved for Amex PMG, then SPG, then Sapphire Preferred. Stoked!

Have been spending and paying, very happy with where im at.

The issue though is that I do have a side business of sorts and I was a bit taken back to find that you cannot use a personal card for business expenses. Although those expenses are small I am still using a personal card for all of them.

for that reason + the fact that the ink bold gives 50k on 5k spend in 3 months, I applied and was given a pending decision.

I just got off teh phone with the recon line wherein I was unceremoniously denied for what the agent cited as "not enough history", my oldest CC with Chase is the Amazon card that I got about 4 months ago.

Long story - quick question.

Does it behoove me to call the recon line again and try to plead my case to another rep, or is this one in the bag as a decline and I should just work with what I have and apply again in 6 months or so when im a bit more established?
    marcwint55 likes this.
  2. sobore
    Original Member

sobore Gold Member

As with most things calling and talking to another rep can yield different results, sometimes not.
    Worst case, you get the same answer and follow-up at a later time.
    marcwint55 and edekba like this.
  3. chemist562
    Original Member

chemist562 In Memorian