Dazed and Confused~point valuation & which cc best

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by wanderlust74, Aug 6, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. wanderlust74

wanderlust74 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Where do I begin? Total newbie to the miles and points "game" and I'm overloaded by the wealth of information on this board and blogs! Hoping to find sound advice here!

My background: Stay at home mom/Substitute teacher, so all cc apps have to be in hubbie's name. (I applied for the Sapphire Preferred on my meager sub income and was denied). Excellent credit score, 794. We began our credit apps nearly a year ago for purpose of accumulating points and miles. Currently have Chase Sapphire Preferred, canceled Chase BA (have 127K Avios), and Citi HiltonHhonors (have 87K points). We recently booked flights for next summer's cruise: BHM to SJU for 87,000 plus $245 for 4 people. That wiped out our UR account. I figured it to be about 1.5 cpm. Also, I've found hotels for $324/nt or 40,000 points, .81 cpm. My first question is, are these good deals? I'm confused as to when to use points vs. pay cash.

Secondly, there are many airports within a 2 hr. driving distance. Delta, United, Southwest, US Airways are all airlines we could fly. Since we have UR, should I focus on accumulating points in order to transfer to United and Southwest, or should I get one of the airline CCs?

Third, I would love to boost our UR account and apply for more Chase cards. I'm interested in Ink Bold or Plus, but we don't have a business. However, I've read that even if we sold items on eBay (which we do), we could apply for these cards. Any advice on this?

Sorry for all the questions. I feel like I'm all over the place with no direction! Someone, please guide me. :)

2. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint, wanderlust74!