Credit Cards Spend

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Gualberto Camacho, Sep 13, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Gualberto Camacho

Gualberto Camacho New Member

Status Points:
    Hi,

I'm new to points and miles and had a question about how to maximize credit card spend. My primary goal are free flights. I know that sign up bonuses are the best way to rack up points quickly. But I'm interested to know how to best maximize my credit card spend.

Let me propose the following scenario. You have the Chase Sapphire, Amex Premier Gold, and Amex SPG. Sapphire gives you 2 points on dining, the gold 2 points on gas, and SPG 1 point on all purchases. What is the better option, use all 3 cards in order to maximize the amount of points you earn even though those points will end of going to different airlines and therefore take longer to earn a reward ticket at any particular airline, or focus all spending on lets say the Chase sapphire, knowing your missing out on the 2x gas bonus or the 25% transfer bonus from SPG?

Thank you for the advice,

Camacho

particlemn and marcwint55 like this.
  2. merice107

merice107 Silver Member

Status Points:
    My first question would be where do you want to go? That will make a big difference. SPG points to united are not a good transfer ratio. Therefore Sapphire would be your best option. American points would be best probably with the SPG. If you just want a oneworld alliance option then the Amex would possibly be good because they sometimes run transfer bonuses to British Airways (a oneworld alliance member; even if you don't want to fly British Airways, you can use the points on any oneworld airline).

That is why I ask where you want to go. Or do you even have a place in mind yet?

edekba and marcwint55 like this.
  3. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points:

Welcome to Milepoint. A lot will depend on where you want to go and how much spend you will do on a monthly basis.