Credit Card App. question

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by jojim, Jun 29, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. jojim

jojim Silver Member

Status Points:
    First post!

Im new to the points/miles game and I would like some advice for my next credit card apps...

I wanted to very slow so I signed up for the Chase SP last month and met the minimum spend super quick with regular purchases and AP. My points just posted to my account and it just got me even more excited about this hobby.

Here is some info:
    • Creditkarma - 720
    • Creditsesame - 796
    • I currently only have two cards (Chase SP and an old BOA I've had for over 6 years)
    • credit age is fairly new I only have those cards, a few retail cards (which I've since closed) and a moto loan which has been paid off
    • I have no debt and I NEVER have a balance carry over
    I am seeking advice on which cards are basically must haves for the long term. I know it is different for everyone depending on their goals, but I know there are some solid cards that just make sense to keep for the benefits and to help credit history. I liked the Chase card for the no foreign fees, and all the transfer partners. Are there any other recommended cards to sign up for early on in the game? Thanks! I really appreciate the advice.

2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    Whether a card's benefits are useful depends on what your needs and preferences are.

Welcome to MP.

3. jojim

jojim Silver Member

Status Points:
    Thanks for the reply! I'll give some more background... I just didnt want to make my first post a book!