Constructive Criticisms/Observations on FTU

Discussion in 'Frequent Traveler University' started by glennaa11, Apr 30, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. glennaa11

glennaa11 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I hope this comes across in the spirit in which it is intended. Let me preface by saying that I attended last weekend's FTU in the DC suburbs as well as the Chicago Seminar a couple of years ago. And I want to thank all of the volunteers and presenters for all of their time and efforts putting these events together. However, I think there are some things that could be improved so I hope a thread like this is welcomed in that spirit of improvement.

I tend to spend more time over at FT than I do here at MP, but I've been participating in the hobby for a few years now and have used my miles and points to take some really great trips. So I am not a total newbie, but by no means am I an expert.

1) I think it might be useful to publish a sentence or two description for each session (when it's not totally obvious, or maybe even then). Maybe an indication of who the intended audience is and what the objective is.

1a) When there is a certain amount of assumed knowledge on the part of the audience it might be worth indicating that up front. For example, I enjoyed Seth's UA session but it was very jargony and assumed a good bit of knowledge of the program on the part of the audience.

2) I have seen it mentioned in the main thread for the event that it seems like it would be nice to be able to put everyone's online handle/identity on their badge so it would be easier to match the person to the posts.

3) The raffle seemed to go on way too long and had way too many amenity kits as prizes. Maybe give some away as door prizes or something if you have so many. Perhaps the raffle could have fewer, higher value prizes instead of so many with little value. I left early to go to another session since it was not in the same room as the raffle.