Confused w/ hotel awards!!

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by jmhuth, Jun 26, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. jmhuth

jmhuth Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm pretty new to this who thing & am getting ready to do my second credit card churn asap... As of now, I've got the airline point thing figured out, it seems pretty straightforward. When it comes to getting hotel awards though I'm lost!! My goal is to be able to fly & stay cheap (or free) at least once per year at a nice location w/ my family of 5. I can figure out how to get us there, but can't figure out which direction to go w/ hotel points etc.... I've found that I can get close to 100,000 hilton points (or 200,000 points if my husband applies for the same cards), but from what I can see, this will only get me 2 nights at a decent Hilton.... I also have a citi card that I can get $100 Hilton rewards w/ relatively cheap..... Should I go this direction or is there a better way to go about this? Does anyone have any suggestions??

2. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    Those Hilton points may go further than you think. When you get the credit card you'll also get some elite status, even if just Silver, which gives you access to multi-night VIP awards that discount rooms off their regular points price. For instance, when the Conrad Koh Samui was priced as Category 6 (40,000 points per night) I redeemed a five night stay for 160,000 points (20% discount, 32k per night). Nice hotel? Well, it hasn't opened yet but the base level room is an oceanview standalone villa with its own pool. And then there are Pointstretcher awards which discount specific properties on specific dates by 40%.

Similarly, Priority Club does offer (limited) Point Breaks awards -- rooms at 5k points per night. And Starwood points go a bit farther with Cash & Points (which Hilton and Priority Club are now offering as well).

3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points: