CO upgrade list / 24 hour window

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by thegrailer, Jan 18, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. thegrailer
    Original Member

thegrailer Silver Member

Status Points:
    So as a UAer I am still new to trying to figure out what is going on with CO flights and the CO website. On .bomb, I can see if my upgrade is pending, i.e., I am on the list. If I am not, I know to call the 1k line and get myself into the UA upgrade lottery. How does that work, if at all, with CO? How do I know if I am on the list? I see nothing on the web and I have a flight in ealry Feb that I'd like to make sure that I at least have a chance to sit up front. (I know about PDA.CO but that now redirects to UA mobile)

Also, is there a 24 hour deadline for requesting upgrades on CO? I was recently rebooked into a fare category that allowed use of a SWU. I was told - actually yelled at - by a UA GA that on CO, there are no upgrade requests permitted after the 24 hour pre-flight window has passed. Is that correct? So if I need to fly to EWR-ARN tomorrow and I have to book a W fare, I am not allowed to even request an upgrade? (getting the upgrade is different, I just want to ask for it). Same for domestic and Cr1s?

Cheers -

2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    You don't. If your FF# is in the reservation correctly then you will be included in the sweeps that happen.

Yes.
    I believe so but I'm not certain.

Scottrick and thegrailer like this.
  3. okrogius

okrogius Silver Member

Status Points:
    Well, that and the ticket is in sync. (Which, at least until check-in and being able to see yourself on the ugprade list, is somewhat non-transparent.)