Clearing security after customs at PHL - advice needed

Discussion in 'PHL | Philadelphia International Airport' started by Scottrick, Sep 17, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Scottrick
    Original Member

Scottrick Gold Member

Status Points:
    Background: Despite telling myself that I will never fly on US Airways again, I still get dragged back every couple years or so. This is my first time traveling them internationally, as I got in on the JK mistake fare to MAD/BCN this summer. Despite the awful seats in coach -- truly, truly awful (and I normally don't mind coach) -- the duty free selection looked appealing.

Johnnie Walker Blue is only $142 compared to well over $200 in Seattle, and I finally have the means to justify it at the lower price. Do I have to pass through security again after clearing customs at PHL? If so, I guess that means I have to put the bottle in my checked luggage. Is it worth the risk? Does US deliver duty free goods at arrival post-security, avoiding this issue? I've honestly never seen anything worth buying before, so any advice is welcome. I believe I'm connecting in the same terminal if that's helpful.

SQ LPP likes this.
  2. Switch2

Switch2 Silver Member

Status Points:
    AFAIK, you have to go through domestic screening once you come into a U.S. hub from a international flight to connect. I would wrap that bottle up in multiple layers of clothing to give it some protection. Unless you have a hard shell suitcase chances of breakage are high. Risk is based on individual tolerance :)

3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points: