Citi running credit check then denying b/c had bonus on another card!

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by estnet, Sep 9, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. estnet
    Original Member

estnet Gold Member

Status Points:
    Was just denied for a AA amex b/c "I had a previous bonus from AA" b/c I have a mastercard. Spoke to a supervisor who said it is a new policy that if you EVER had a bonus you can't get another one even with a different card.
    She claimed this is a new policy - anyone else have this experience?
    The part of this that really is bad is that they run a credit check FIRST, then deny the card b/c you went through a link that requires they give you bonus miles:mad:

MX, Kalboz and iolaire like this.
  2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    this is interesting.

Kalboz likes this.
  3. Singapore Flyer

Singapore Flyer Silver Member

Status Points:
    FT has an extensive three on this. You can check it there. Not at a computer, otherwise I would post it.

Sent from my iPhone using milepoint

Kalboz and LETTERBOY like this.
  4. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

Status Points:
    Am I the only one not surprised by this? really? If one believes some of the stuff being posted on these boards it does seems that the "churning charade" has gotten way out of hand in part due to the lax policies by card issuers.

There is no way you can convince me that giving a card holder 50k airline miles, for $1000 spend and no annual fee
    as a stand alone transaction can be profitable for the card issuer even if the bank is paying the airline a low half a cent per mile.

Wont be surprised to see more of this being put in place by other lenders.

5. flyforawg

flyforawg Silver Member

Status Points: