Churn Strategery Help

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by sharris503, Jul 10, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sharris503

sharris503 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Since I am brand new to this game I have identified 9 cards I would like to get. I already have two BofA Alaska Cards (applied for in March and June). One thing I am a bit confused about is whether I should just apply for these all at once or do I apply for a 3 at a time and then wait 90 days and do 3 more? What is the strategy here to make sure I get all of them.

I should also mention that I can't start applying for any of these until mid to late August because we are refinancing the house right now and I don't want to make any credit inquiries. I'm hoping the southwest promo is extended. Thanks for the help.

Here are the cards I would like, not necessarily in order of preference:
    1. AA 75k Personal
    2. AA 75k Amex
    3. AA 75k Business (with this card I do know I need to wait 65 days after the first two)
    4. Southwest Personal
    5. Southwest Business
    6. Hawaiian BofH
    7. Hawaiian BofA
    8. SPG
    9. Chase Sapphire Preferred

savydog likes this.
  2. jmhuth

jmhuth Silver Member

Status Points:
    No, don't apply for all... Check out www.frugaltravelguy.com... He has some great tips on how to apply w/o hurting your credit..

savydog likes this.
  3. sharris503

sharris503 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I've been reading his blog extensively and in all likelihood I have probably read the answer to my question and it has been pushed out of my mind with other information I have gathered. I guess really my question is how many cards can you apply for at one time or lets say in a 90 day time frame. Anyway this timeframe stuff is still fairly confusing to me so I will keep plugging along at flyer talk and frugaltravelguy looking for a good guideline. Right now I'm thinking two cards per 60-90 days.

savydog likes this.
  4. miles and smiles