Checked Bags - United first leg, American 2nd. Do I have to check twice?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Travel' started by nonstopski, Dec 18, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. nonstopski

nonstopski Silver Member

Status Points:
    This might be a *really* dumb question, but realizing I've never done it before. I am flying on United for the first leg of my trip, and then American Airlines after that. Due to the fact that it's a ski trip, I do have carry ons to deal with (ski bag & another bag). Will I have to go get my checked bags out of security and then re-check them with American?

I get into SFO at 1:03 and take off for my next flight at 2:10. Seems tight. May need to fed ex these home :-/

Update: Looks Like I may or may not. Anyone know what American or United's rules/deal is here? https://faq.ebookers.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3947

Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Was it purchased as a single ticket? If so that's going to help you but even if not it is possible for United to check the bags through to AA for you.

If it is a single ticket then the system should just work without you really needing to do much. If they are separate tickets then you should bring a print out of the AA itinerary, preferably showing the ticket number (13 digits, likely starting with 001) and the PNR (6-character alphanumeric reservation locator) with you and explain to the agent that you have a connecting itinerary and that you would like them to "interline the checked bags through to AA."

nonstopski likes this.
  3. nonstopski

nonstopski Silver Member

Status Points:
    Multiple tickets as I booked the American leg with miles.

4. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Status Points: