Charlotte NC Usairways lounge review

Discussion in 'US Airways | Dividend Miles' started by lapointdm, Aug 17, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. lapointdm

lapointdm Silver Member

Status Points:
    One of the unexpected bonuses of my unfortunate flight escapes was I ended up with a three hour layover in Charlotte, NC with the opportunity to try out a US airways lounge. I have an AA Executive Mastercard from Citi that provides lounge access. I used my tablet in the airport and went to citi's website and looked up my benefits on my card and I was able to get to the lounge info and verify there was a lounge I could use in charlotte which was a Usairways lounge not american (There were actually 2 lounges but I went to the larger of the 2 between C and D gates)

The lounge has a grand entrance all wood and glass doors. After walking down the ramp there is a large desk. I was assisted by a desk agent and she asked for my credit card (which I did not have on me - not expecting I would need that lounge access) after talking to her some more she would let me in I have had my awards number which I did. Thank you awardwallet and tablet! She let me immediately in.

The space is very large (could seat well over a hundred), with comfy chairs and tables between then with lamps and charging areas. There was a large overhead dome and you could stay in side away from the outside or sit by an outside window and have a good view of the runway. It was breakfast where there was a mix of instant oatmeal, apples and oranges, bagels, and a variety of snacks (pretzels filled with peanut butter, couple of trail mix types). The piest de resistance was the coffee maker with a lot of variety and it could make lattes .I proceeded to make myself a latte and it was pretty decent. There was also a decent wine selection and beer but being the morning I didn't indulge.