changing Award flight in advance

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by syasko, Dec 27, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. I'm a one pass newbie--I've read a few places that Continental will let you change award flights if a seat opens up in advance (I've had a few United flights open close and open again over the years). I think it's no change fee as long as it's 21 days in advance.

Any help would be..well..helpful.

JohnDeere19 and rwoman like this.
  2. yaychemistry

yaychemistry Silver Member

Status Points:
    As long as you booked through Continental, then yes, you can change an award booking with no fee if you keep the origin and destination the same, and you're at least 21 days out. You'll have to call to make the change, but so far the agents have been friendly. I just did it myself yesterday.

Besides that you can change the days, the routing, and the class of service (as long as there is inventory available).

JohnDeere19, rwoman and iolaire like this.
  3. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    A clarification on the 21 day part of the rule: it is from the NEW travel date.

If you are booked to fly EWR-IAH-SFO on 6 January 2012 and you wish to change it to fly on 6 February 2012 but only EWR-ORD-SFO is available then you can make that call on 5 January and it would still be free as the new travel date (6 February) is still more than 21 days away.

4. TAHKUCT
    Original Member

TAHKUCT Gold Member

Status Points:
    Thanks. Was not aware of this.

5. PanAm
    Original Member

PanAm Silver Member

Status Points:
    Is there any reason why CO.com wants to charge a change fee for a (>21 days) change to date - same O/D? I was playing with some date changes on an itinerary for several months out (booked from my wife's non-status acct. which I didn't think mattered) and CO.com priced in a change fee.