CC churning: minimum timeframes for applying?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by carwag25, Aug 3, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. carwag25

carwag25 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to Milepoint and just got into the CC churning game last month. I was approved/received four of the Citi AA cards (two for me and two for my spouse), and the Amex Platinum card (with the 100K bump).
    Since I have observed that the 5 cards have not affected our credit score (which is excellent) and minimum spends are not an issue for us (my spouse and I own a business with ~$50K spend a month). I am wanting to apply for the Chase Southwest/Sapphire cards, and Amex SPG cards this week, however, I am unsure of the minimum timeframe I must wait before applying with each bank....

I have read Citibank is a minimum of 60 days, and Chase is 90 days. What about Amex and Bank of America?

Apologies in advance if this has been asked many times before, but my searching through the threads did not return anything.

Thanks in advance!

2. aitchly
    Original Member

aitchly Silver Member

Status Points:
    Credit Score. Credit Score. Credit Score!

Keep an eye on how many 'pulls' you have in a certain time frame. At some point you will start getting into trouble for too many in a short time frame.

One way around this is to stack your applications on the same day; the theory is one bank cannot see another pull from the same day.

The second issue is total pulls. Since they fall off in two years and are not a rejection priority after one year, consider applying every three months for 1-5 cards.

Horse, jmrich1432, carwag25 and 2 others like this.
  3. miles and smiles
    Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to Milepoint!