Category 4 hotels in Alaska - Anchorage, Fairbanks, Seward site seeing

Discussion in 'Marriott | Rewards' started by kayjay, Mar 21, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. kayjay
    Original Member

kayjay Silver Member

Status Points:
    I have 2 free nights & my wife has 2 free nights from the current promotion. Planning to use it at Alaska for our July vacation. Our first time in Alaska!
    I am not a downtown person, but more into nature photography.
    Which Marriott category 4 is the best hotel accessible to nature sites, and attractions?
    your thoughts and suggestions greatly appreciated.

2. Colonel G
    Original Member

Colonel G Silver Member

Status Points:
    Well, I'm an Anchorage resident and have to tell you that all of the Marriott properties are all in town AFAIK. However, that really should not be a problem since 15 minutes in any direction will get you out of downtown and into nature's wilderness. In fact, with 17 miles of trail wandering through Anchorage, you can easily access mother nature from in town. Just be careful if you run into a moose, or less likely, a bear. That's not a joke.

Suggest you stay in any of the Anchorage properties and head south when you ant to take some pics. First stop on the Seward Hwy. is Girdwood which is a populated valley about 45 minutes south of Anchorage and home to our only real ski resort. You can ride the ski resort tram during the summer and take awesome pics from teh top of the mountain.