Card Churning

Discussion in 'Other Credit Card Programs' started by Patricia GW, Mar 26, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Patricia GW

Patricia GW Member

Status Points:
    Hello MilePoint fellows, I am a newbie travel hacker seeking advice on "card churning."

I've followed blogs such as Frugal Travel Guy in the past, who mentioned earning several thousand miles through applying for promotional credit cards and then cancelling them. How does this affect your credit? What are the downsides or disadvantages to opening and closing several credit card accounts? Once you have the bonus miles, do you simply cancel the card immediately?

If you could give me a general idea of how card churning works, I would appreciate it.

Kalboz, alohastephen and airshadow like this.
  2. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points:
    Why close a card immediately if your AF isn't due yet? I highly recommend not closing any Chase cards immediately after you receive the bonus. There have been reports of Chase closing people's accounts and even blacklisting them. Considering that Chase has a good number of great cards/sign-up bonuses, the rewards are too high to risk.

3. Patricia GW

Patricia GW Member

Status Points:
    Hi Jimmy, what does "AF" refer to? I currently have a Chase Sapphire Preferred and I intend to keep it for years to come. So it wouldn't be wise to open a second Chase card and cancel it?

4. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points:
    AF = Annual Fee. I would just keep the second Chase card open until the AF is due and Chase won't get a statement credit or if you apply for another card and they/you offer to close the second account so it moves the credit to the new application/card.

5. Dangjr213

Dangjr213 Gold Member

Status Points:
    AF= annual fee