Car Rental Question

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by sveta, Dec 14, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. sveta
    Original Member

sveta Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am a newbie when it comes to renting cars, so I am hoping for some guidance from the experienced ones :)

My hubby and I are going to rent a car for 1 week in San Diego. We have miles here and there and everywhere. How many miles does 1 week rental usually cost? We don't care about a fancy car, by the way.

So I am not sure whether it's worth using miles or not. Or should we just use our current mileage programs (Ultimate Rewards, Delta, AA, United) to earn some extra miles? Or maybe there are other options... ?

Thank you in advance!

sveta

2. Gargoyle
    Original Member

Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    I've never used miles for a rental car, not sure how that goes, but I know with the Delta program some of the peripheral (non flight) uses can be very good redemption methods. I've used miles for hotel rooms a number of times, typically getting a 1.5 to 2 cent per mile value.

Some people value miles at 1 cent per mile, so that any redemption better than that is a good deal, some put the value higher, like 2 cents per mile. Keep that in mind when comparing rental cost in dollars to cost in miles.

Mikel, miles and smiles and sveta like this.
  3. miles and smiles
    Original Member

miles and smiles Gold Member

Status Points:
    There are many ways to save money on car rentals. My personal favorite is autoslash.com because they do the searching for inexpensive rentals fro you. Priceline is also good for car rentals. From what i know airline companies do not give you good rates for car rentals.

4. Gargoyle
    Original Member

Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Smarter Travel just had an article on this today. You can download a pdf with the full research results from their site. (see page 11 of the report).

5. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points: