Capital One Direct Banking

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by MX, Jun 25, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    Capital One bank used to offer a variety of checking and savings accounts that paid reward points in addition to interest. Yesterday I accidentally came across their direct banking portal, and found the entire portfolio of services replaced by a link to the ING-Direct page.
    http://www.capitalone.com/directbanking/

I later got an explanation from a phone rep. Indeed CapOne exited its direct banking business after the merger with ING-Direct. They promised that customers with existing CapOne reward points will be unaffected for the time being.

NYCUA1K likes this.
  2. NYCUA1K

NYCUA1K Gold Member

Status Points:
    It seems that there has been quite a bit bank "restructuring" of late. I have an HSBC MasterCard that I got through HSBC. While the card still has HSBC logos and design, it seems that it is no longer an HSBC MC because I got a note that says:

Capital One Services, LLC, services your account on behalf of affiliated creditor Capital One Bank (USA), N.A. Your account is no longer serviced by HSBC Card Services Inc.

I like this card because it waives foreign exchange fees but I do not like the fact that HSBC seems to have just 'dumped' cardmembers on CapOne's lap...

MX likes this.
  3. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Earlier this year, Cap One went on a purchasing spending free.
    1. Capital One Bought ING (Feb)
    2. HSBC Sold its Card Business to Capital One (March)

NYCUA1K likes this.
  4. Robin
    Original Member

Robin Silver Member

Status Points:
    Just received a letter from Cap One: Effective 8/15/12 Withdrawals from ATM's outside the US will incur a 3% transaction fee. Didn't this used to me free?

5. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    yes; that's why they sent ya a letter :) heh

6. needtoescape

needtoescape Silver Member

Status Points: