Canadian Credit Card Strategy?

Discussion in 'Other Credit Card Programs' started by jorgeluis500, Mar 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jorgeluis500

jorgeluis500 Member

Status Points:
    I'm going to move to Canada soon (Montreal) and wanted some advice on which credit card should I choose there and what general strategy to follow. Although I have read lots of articles, follow several blogs (Brian "The Points guy", Ben "Lucky", Darious, Rewards Canada, Gary, Mommy Points, etc) and just finished the Nicholas Kralev book, I'm fairly new to the miles and points game.

I got really interested 8 months ago when I could successfully redeem some miles for a NY trip and after losing 21.000 Flying Blue miles since I let them expire (ouch!). To make a long story short, before that, lack of opportunities and ignorance about how to earn and redeem miles in Venezuela (where I live) usually put me off.

My profile
    Airlines
    - Oneworld: AAdvantage: 200.000 miles (mostly through everyday spending with the Citibank card)
    - Star Alliance: Aeroplan: 5.000 (7.000 by the time I get there)
    - Skyteam: zero (Still missing those hard-earned FB miles)
    And some other orphan miles

Hotels
    Marriott: ~11.000 points
    Voila Hotels: 5.000 points

My wife has nearly 55.000 AAdvantage miles and almost 10.000 with Continental (now United). She lost even more miles than me with AF Flying Blue. I am now monitoring all our accounts with Award Wallet. We have a 2 year-old soon and another one on the way.

My goals
    They are loosely defined but could be summed up as: