Can you use miles from different credit cards towards the same flight?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by minicait999, Oct 29, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. minicait999

minicait999 New Member

Status Points:
    So, I'm very new to all this, and I recently bought an American Express credit card which will give me 30,000 miles to use. If I sign up for a different credit card which also offers me 30,000 miles, can I use all 60,000 miles towards the same flight, or do I have to use them separately?
    Thanks!

2. bigx0

bigx0 Gold Member

Status Points:
    What kind of credit cards? Do you earn membership rewards points or true airline miles?

3. Mike Reed

Mike Reed Gold Member

Status Points:
    This is key. Amex gives you Membership Rewards points which convert to miles on some airlines and are usable for part of the cost of a ticket on others. Depending on the second card, if it transfers points to miles in the same program, you could combine miles and use them together. Otherwise, it'd likely be difficult (read: impossible) to use both points-as-cash credits at the same time on the same transaction since it usually requires you to apply them to a charge on that particular card.

Which cards and programs?

B1BomberVB likes this.
  4. minicait999

minicait999 New Member

Status Points:
    I am getting true airline miles. I got an American Express card and the guy I spoke with on the phone about it said that my 30,000 miles would translate to about $300 towards a ticket. I don't have a second card yet--I'm only in a rush to get one if I can combine miles. How do I find out if a card transfers points or miles to miles in the same program? What are the names of these various 'programs', and what should I google to find out more about them? At this point, I really know absolutely nothing (I'm young, I've never had a credit card before) other than that I want to get some cheap flights. Thanks so much for helping!

5. bigx0

bigx0 Gold Member