Can I kvetch about delays due to late arriving crew?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by jfhscott, Aug 6, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jfhscott
    Original Member

jfhscott Silver Member

Status Points:
    I imagine reasonable minds will differ, but I'm not entirely pleased with UA today.

I was on an ORD-DCA early this afternoon, and my parents, who seldom fly were on a later ORD-DCA flight (due to award ticket availability). I was delayed 30 minutes, and my parents 2 hours due to "late arriving crew".

FWIW, I am a construction attorney by trade, and I generally (based on well established case law) view the risk of not having ample staffing to complete a task as being allocated to the contractor. Certain force majeure events may come to bear, but they are the exception, not the rule. Moreover, I would expect an airline to provide for late arriving crew, especially at a hub such as ORD, where they can absorb scheduling irregularities better.

Of course, I am aware that the cost of precautions gets passed onto the consumer, one way or another.

But on balance, I posit that the risk of a crew from a, say, SAN-ORD not arriving on time to serve their following ORD-DCA should be borne by the carrier, as the risk of scheduling attends to their means and methods of getting the job done.

And, yes, I'm a smidge upset that this is getting visited upon my parents, who no longer roll with the punches as they once did.

Am I being unreasonable?

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. ssullivan
    Original Member

ssullivan Gold Member

Status Points:
    Have your parents arrived yet? I'm at DCA waiting on an inbound aircraft from ORD that was delayed there due to a late arriving crew. I'm headed out on that plane to IAH.