Can I do this?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Miss Staunton, Sep 21, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Miss Staunton

Miss Staunton Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am a newbie who has lurked here as well as reading as much information as I can get. I need some help. 5 months ago I booked an award ticket on Star Alliance airlines to fly from IAD to SYD with a return from AKL back to IAD. I am now thinking about changing my ticket (if possible) in order to spend a few days in another city - Bangkok. I like my outbound flights and don't think there is anything that I can even change it to. My question is on the return can I do AKL to BKK (for a few days) and then BKK to IAD (via Narita)? I would like to book this as a round trip. Is this even possible? I apologize in advance if I have used the wrong terminology - feel free to gently correct me.

Kalboz, pcarol, Gargoyle and 2 others like this.
  2. needtoescape

needtoescape Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome. you should probably let people know which FF program's miles you used to book your award flight, since it will be that program's rules that will dictate what your options are.

Kalboz, pcarol and Gargoyle like this.
  3. Miss Staunton

Status Points:
    I booked it through United.

Kalboz, pcarol and YULtide like this.
  4. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    Technically It is route able in terms of stop overs & open jaws, however I do not remember if United allows routing to Aussie through SE asia.

I would call United & try, if you have flight/space already verified of course. They might charge you a change fee dependent upon your status and what not but I would try. I think they allow it, but I don't 100% remember.

But another question is how are you doing IAD - SYD.

.... I just tried it & it works. This is not saver fares as i just did a quickie.
    [​IMG]

Kalboz likes this.
  5. Miss Staunton

Status Points: