Can I do better with this award ticket?

Discussion in 'Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles' started by loungelizard, Mar 29, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. loungelizard

loungelizard Active Member

Status Points:
    First, I am really still new at this and very, very new using Delta so please go easy on me. Husband and I are looking to go to Australia from the WAS area July 2015 so I started playing with flights and awards for Feb 2015 just to get an idea. Here is what I have so far (btw, I found visiting Bali for a few days lowers the total points needed so added that in our itinerary).

02/05 - DCA - LAX - economy (no business class service)
    02/05 - LAX - DPS - business on VA
    02/10 - DPS - SYD - business on VA
    would love to get from SYD to CNS but am willing to pay for those tickets
    02/18 - CNS - LAX - business on VA
    finally, could not get back to DCA from LAX but can use my Southwest companion pass for that if needed.

This came to 140,000 per person.

Is this right or am I missing something - or can I do better?

Thanks!

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    It's a good start but your DCA-LAX flight has FC, which--if available in low--would price the same as business class. I suspect you're omitting connections and cadeshare details here. For example, AFAIK either DCA-LAX is operated by AS or you're connecting somewhere because DL is subject to the perimeter rule at DCA. [Could there be a DL nonstop on Saturday???] Similarly, VA doesn't operate LAX-DPS, so that I'd be curious about what the schedule and connections look like.

SYD-CNS shouldn't be that hard, especially if you're willing to accept coach or take a connection through Brisbane or elsewhere.